Što da kažem…

     This week was a whirlwind of travel, and it honestly flew by. The subject line of my email this week is Croatian, and I feel almost like I’ve spent more time there this week than in Slovenia! It started on Tuesday. Elder Prososki had a dentist appointment, so we made the trip down to Zagreb. Nothing too exciting there – just driving. Even still, it took most of the day.
     On Wednesday we made a trip to the Ljubljana archives. I found another couple of names there, and I think the running total for the past few weeks is now 33 new ancestors. It’s so rewarding to be able to find these people who have been waiting for decades and centuries to receive their saving ordinances. I cannot wait to start going to the temple and actually doing them myself!

DSC04869.JPG

(Some archive work. We have to go in “civilian clothes”, since the Catholic church isn’t the biggest fan of Mormon missionaries walking into their archives to do temple work…)

     Thursday was spent in Kranj, and we had the opportunity to teach one of our investigators. He’s 18 years old, and really enjoys learning about the gospel. Some people are like sponges, and just soak up every ounce of gospel information they can get. It’s so fun to be a part of that process. The next step for him is to come to church, and we hope to see him there next Sunday.
     On Friday and Saturday we had an overnight zone conference at the mission home in Zagreb. The meetings were great, but the best part was spending some  down time with the rest of the zone. We played volleyball, basketball, card games, and just enjoyed each other’s company.

DSC04892 (1).JPG

(A group game of “Mafia”)

DSC04920.JPG

(I missed the folded arms memo. (from left) Elder Prososki, Elder Mangeris, Me, Elder Wise)

DSC04916.JPG

(The Slovenian Elders!)

It was a somewhat sentimental two days for me – this was my last zone conference and was the last time I am going to see some of the other missionaries. I’ve grown to love these people, and will miss them a lot. There are five of us going home next month, and we all had the opportunity to bear our testimony at the end of the conference.

     All-in-all, a great week. It flew by, and I’m afraid that isn’t going to stop. I’m loving it here though, and am trying to soak up every moment I have. I hope things are going well at home, and I’ll try to write more next time I’m on the computer!
Jack

 

Leave a Reply

