Happy Mother’s Day, and a Quick Hello!

This p day became busier than we had originally thought, and I don’t have too much time to email. But I of course, still want to fill you in on my week.

DSC04436.JPG

(We took a trip up into the bell tower of one of Maribor’s catholic churches. What a view!)

DSC04428.JPG

DSC04468.JPG

(A p-day trip up to a waterfall in the mountains north of Maribor. Gotta love Slovenia!)

DSC04460.JPG

     We didn’t have too much special happening this past week, but we spent quite a bit of time going door to door in the college dorms. The fear of doing that has largely subdued, and it’s quickly becoming one of my favorite missionary activities. There’s just something so fun about being able to talk to so many people my age, who (for the most part) are open minded and willing to listen.
     There was one particular experience which stood out to me in particular. We knocked on a door and a young woman answered. After explaining who we were she quickly told us that she was a biology student and didn’t believe in God. Instead of just saying “thank you” and leaving though, we kept chatting. The conversation become more and more focused on faith, and we talked to her about what it means to have a relationship with God. This was a tough concept for her to grasp – the idea that we can have a personal relationship with a person that we don’t see. But, Elder Hughes and I were able to share our own experiences of what this has done for us, and I think she was touched. At the end we challenged her to give prayer an honest go, and she didn’t seem too against it. I don’t know what will happen – I’ll probably never see this girl again in my life – but it was a nice experience to be able to simply and directly testify about what it means to really know God as our Father.

The rest of the week was pretty standard. Contacting, tracting, and a lesson here and there. Next week should be crazy though… Somehow in the midst of all of these emails home I’ve forgotten to mention that David Archuleta is coming to Slovenia to do a concert this week! The Church is teaming up with a Slovenian heart disease foundation to put it all on, and this week we’ll be deep in the throngs of that concert. I’ll let you know how it goes.

     I love you all so much, and I hope you had a great mother’s day 🙂
     Love you,
     Jack
Leave a Reply

