Teaching Repentance

Good morning everyone!

Well, another week has come and gone, and I’m amazed at how fast 7 days can go. I sincerely hope that the weeks don’t fly this fast at home!

We had a good week here, although nothing too out of the ordinary to report. The Elders from Ljubljana came to Maribor on Monday night for an exchange, and instead of two of us going back to Ljubljana all four of us stayed in Maribor. It was great to have more than two missionaries here for a few days – I miss having a district! I worked with Elder Prososki, one of the Elders that was in the MTC with me an eternity ago. It’s fun to be able to see the change that has happened in that year and a half.

IMG_8816.JPG
(My name is Jack, Elder Prososki’s name is Joe. It was too perfect)
DSC03977.JPG
(I got to spend a few hours in Celje this weekend. It was like seeing a long lost friend:)

This week we had the chance to teach a number of different lessons. Although each was very different, I noticed a common theme woven throughout all of the lessons: repentance. Ever since the church did that broadcast called “Teach Repentance, Baptize Converts” I’ve really tried my hardest to teach repentance in a more complete way. And the results have been amazing!

What I’ve seen in the past few weeks is this: everything we teach is supposed to point toward repentance and baptism. Take Joseph Smith and the Restoration as an example. Why do we teach people about that? Is it just so they know about something cool that happened 200 years ago? No! It’s because the message of the Restoration is supposed to point us toward repentance and baptism by proper, restored, authority. Do we teach the Plan of Salvation because it’s fun to talk about where we go when we die? Well… yes haha. But more importantly, it’s because the Plan of Salvation teaches us why we need to repent and be baptized. Everything we teach as missionaries points towards repentance, and covenants such as baptism.

In 3 Nephi 11 Christ comes to the Nephites and begins to teach then, just as He taught the people of Israel. He starts by saying to them, “Behold, verily, verily, I say unto you, I will declare unto you my doctrine.” At this point the Nephites were probably expecting something spectacular – what is Christ’s doctrine!? He continues, “And whoso believeth in me, and is baptized, the same shall be saved; and they are they who shall inherit‍ the kingdom of God…And again I say unto you, ye must repent, and be baptized in my name, and become as a little child…Verily, verily, I say unto you, that this is my doctrine…” And that was it! The Gospel of Christ is not complicated – not even a little bit. It’s about repenting every day, trying to do better than we did the day before, and making sacred covenants.

I love being able to teach this to investigators. I love telling them that my purpose as a missionary isn’t just to fill their heads with new knowledge – it’s to help them change their lives through the power of repentance. There’s really no better calling than that.

I hope you all have a great week, and I’ll talk to you soon!

Starešina Davis

Leave a Reply

