Where are you spring!

Good morning everyone!

We had a good week in Maribor, although the weather is all over the place right now. We didn’t have any snow this winter, but in the past two weeks its snowed 4 or 5 times. I just want Slovenia to be blindingly green again! Is that too much to ask?

On Monday we had a great p-day with Elder and Sister Johnson in the little town of Rogaška Slatina. Beside having a number of nice spas and hotels, Rogaška Slatina is also home to Rogaška Cyrstal, a company which produces crystal for companies all over the world. They have a huge factory here, so the four of us took a tour and watched as beautiful crystal pieces were blown, cut, decorated, polished and packed. It was actually a very cool tour!

DSC03854.JPG
(Just a cute Slovenian village on the way back from Rogaska Slatina)

On Tuesday we had a great lesson with one of our investigators. He’s a college student in his early 20s who we found while tracting a few weeks ago. He finally had time for another lesson, and it was… well, it was something. He had a billion questions about everything imaginable, and these weren’t just the “so, what do you believe?” kind of questions. They were deep, philosophical, and difficult to answer. Part of me really enjoyed it actually – I like the intellectual challenge. I tried not to let that part get the better of me though, and remembered that as a missionary it’s not my duty to answer and address every single question and concern that an investigator can come up with. And it’s definitely not my job to try and teach things from an intellectual standpoint. Bearing testimony of gospel truths is the greatest tool I have, and once I’ve taught and testified it’s up to the investigator and Holy Ghost to do the rest.

The rest of the week was pretty standard, and there were a couple of other investigators we were able to teach. We also spent quite a bit of time tracting, and were desperately searching for the apartments where the college students live. As much as I love arguing with 75-year-old Catholics… I don’t. So, we’re doing all we can to find out where the young, friendly, and open-minded people live.

DSC03883.JPG
(Maribor)

Another exciting moment from my week? I finally had a success in the Catholic archives! Agnes Zidarič (the one who came to America) had two husbands – Louis Cvetko and Martin Vouk. Our family obviously comes from Louis Cvetko, so I’ve never thought to look for information on Martin Vouk. Well, this week I decided to give it a try and actually found his baptismal record with a birthplace, parents, etc. It was exciting to actually find something, and every time I make progress on my Slovenian family history I feel more and more like I am accomplishing a task I was sent here to work on.

All-in-all this was a great week, and we are having a great time finding, teaching, and enjoying this wonderful country we’re in. There is so such to be enjoyed on a mission, and I’m realizing more and more that happiness and satisfaction is a choice. In a mission like this, I could easily let myself be discouraged, pessimistic, and unhappy. But it’s my choice, and I choose to be happy, to love the members and investigators, to cherish the teaching moments we have, and enjoy the amazing culture around us. This is something I hope to never forget, especially when I go home – we can be happy or unhappy, and it’s simply up to us to decide.

I hope you all have a great week, and I’ll hear from you soon.

Starešina Davis

Leave a Reply

