We Thank Thee, O God, for a Prophet

Good morning and happy Monday everyone!

     Another week has flown by in Kranj, and this week was the last week of the transfer. 9  more weeks have already come and gone, and I now only have 5 transfers before I’m home. How scary is that!
     It was a good week for me in Kranj though, and definitely started out on a great note 🙂
     We didn’t have too much planned for p day last week, but after church on Sunday we got a text from our friend telling us how much he enjoyed church, and asking us if we wanted to spend our p day with him! We happily agreed.
     The 5 of us (him, us, the sisters) drove about 30 min to the mountains that separate us from Austria. There, we took a gondola up to the top of the mountain, and then hiked another hour or so. Our destination was a place called “Velika Planina” (the big pasture), a very high-altitude pasture which is home to a small village of traditional wooden huts. In the summer it’s used by hearders and in the winter it’s a ski resort. It was such a cool place and just felt so… European.

(Sister Erdmann, Sister Duffy, Me, Elder Rice, Sjoerd)

(Sister Erdmann, Sister Duffy, Me, Elder Rice, Sjoerd)

(It was probably 37 degrees and VERY windy, so we were all trying to bundle up as much as we could haha)

(It was probably 37 degrees and VERY windy, so we were all trying to bundle up as much as we could haha)

(It's like a Slovene version of the Shire!)

(It’s like a Slovene version of the Shire!)

It was a really fun p day, and I think the 5 of us just enjoyed spending time together.

It was a really fun p day, and I think the 5 of us just enjoyed spending time together.

The cutest little church I've ever seen

The cutest little church I’ve ever seen

The gondola

The gondola

Ljubljana

Ljubljana

We went to a rooftop cafe in Ljubljana for lunch this week and they had the coolest stairs I've ever seen!

We went to a rooftop cafe in Ljubljana for lunch this week and they had the coolest stairs I’ve ever seen!

     Thursday was the highly anticipated day of “transfer announcements” and the 4 of us were huddled over the computer in the morning, clicking the refresh button fairly violently haha. To a non-missionary this would seem like nothing… but for us, this is our life for the next two months.
     To make a long story short, I’ll be staying in Kranj for the coming transfer, and Elder Rice will be moving to Celje (lucky!). My new companion will be Elder Hughes, who has been in Slovenia for almost as long as I have. I’m really excited. Elder Hughes and I have been asked to be the zone leaders, so this should be quite the adventure haha!
     The final highlight this week was, of course, general conference.
     On Saturday evening we got together at the church in Kranj and watched the Saturday morning session live. I made palačinke (slovene crepes) for everyone, and we had a great time watching. Then, on Sunday, we went down to Ljubljana to watch Saturday afternoon with the members, as well as Sundaymorning live with the missionaries there.
     One of my favorite messages was that which was shared by our prophet, President Monson. How great of a blessing is it to have an actual, living prophet which can guide us with revelation directly from God! I think that we sometimes fail to see how great of a gift that is, and I know that I can do better at studying and living by the words of our prophets and apostles.

President Monson talked about being an example to the world during conference. He said that “we become examples of the believers by living the gospel of Jesus Christ in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, and in purity,” He continued, “As we do so, our lights will shine for others to see.”

I have a strong testimony that our example is the greatest tool that we have as members of the church. Of course our words our important, but people are always watching us, and will tend to form opinions about us based on what we do more than on what we say. President Monson concluded: “That each of us within the sound of my voice may pledge to follow Him, thus becoming a shining light to the world, is my prayer.” I know that as we live in a way that the Lord wants us to live we really will become a light to the world, and that we will lift those around us. It’s something I try to do every day, and is something we can all work on for the rest of our lives.

     I love you all so much, and hope you have a great week!
     z ljubeznijo,
     Starešina Jack
Leave a Reply

