We’re Halfway There!

As Bon Jovi so eloquently put it…

     Whoa, we’re half way there –
WHO-A, livin’ on a prayer!!!

Take my hand, we’ll make it I swear

 (you can imagine me singing that if you want haha)
     Yes it’s true – as of this past week, I’ve officially passed my one year mark as a missionary… It’s all a downhill slope from here! It’s probably going very slow for all of you back home, but for me it’s… well it’s going both slow and fast. On one hand, I feel like I’ve been a missionary for an eternity, and that this is the only life I know or can remember. On the other hand, I feel like I just got here, and that the past year has zoomed right past me. Time is a strange thing on a mission.
     But enough of that.
     This week was a great one, and I’ll start with Monday. The reason I sent such a quick email last week was because we had the chance to spend our p day at the amazing Postojna Cave and nearby Predjama castle. The caves are beautiful, and you actually begin your visit in a Disneyland-esque train ride through the cave tunnels. After getting off the train you walk through different parts of the cave, and then get back on the train to get out. Slovenia still shocks me with its natural and geographical diversity. From the caves we took a shuttle to Predjama Castle (literally, “in front of the cave Castle”), which is a medieval castle that was built right into the mouth of a cave. It looks like something out of a fairy tale, and was amazing to see in person.  DSC02020 DSC02006 DSC02045 DSC02093 (1) DSC02082

(The Kranj and Ljubljana District at the caves)

(The Kranj and Ljubljana District at the caves)

So that was our amazing p day adventure!
     The rest of the week was equally great, and we tried something new this week – sidewalk chalk.
     It was Tuesday, almost a 100 degrees outside, and our motivation to go tracting in the hot sun all afternoon was about as close to zero as you can get. So we called the sisters (who felt the same way) and talked about some new things we could try instead. The idea we came to was “chalking”, essentially buying a bunch of sidewalk chalk and then using that to someone get people to talk to us. We had nothing to loose, so we decided to go for it.
    The result was phenomenal.
     We took the chalk out into Kranj’s main square and there drew out a big and colorful diagram of the Plan of Salvation (it was probably 40×20 feet). When people would stop to look at it, we’d talk to them, and then offer to take them on a “walking tour” of God’s plan for us. It worked SO well, and we talked to so many people. Excited by this success, we did it again the next morning (we just used the same chalk drawing), and it went equally well.

Where did I come from? Why am I here? Where am I going?

Where did I come from?
Why am I here?
Where am I going?

How do we come to know truth?

How do we come to know truth?

DSC02117

     This weekend was Kranj’s big music festival/carnival/beer drinking party haha, and so we decided to take our chalking skills there. In one of the main squares we set up a little whiteboard which said “Write why you’re happy!” and then had chalk around it. I honestly wasn’t sure if anyone would actually stop and write, but they did – big time. At one point, we probably had 20 people gathered around writing in chalk why they were happy, and this technique was especially good for stopping families with young kids. DSC02156
     All in all, we ended up finding more new investigators in this one week than we had found in the previous 6 weeks combined, and I give credit to the power of creativity. The Lord doesn’t give us ideas, talents and creativity, just so we can ignore them. He expects us to use that creativity! This week was the most fun I’ve had doing finding in a long time, and I am SO excited to keep trying creative finding ideas.
     It was a great week here in Kranj, and as usual I’m loving life as a missionary. I love you all so much, and it sounds like things are going good back home. I pray for you every single day, and cannot wait to hear from you soon!
     Love, Jack
Leave a Reply

