Lep Pozdravljeni!!

Good morning everyone and lep pozdravljeni! I’m running out of witty subject lines, so it looks likes I’m just resorting to using random Slovene phrases. At least this one is still a greeting!

Monday through Thursday was pretty uneventful, and we just did the usual mix of contacting and tracting. I guess it was okay, but I’ve found that I can only take so many hours of tracting before I begin to go crazy. We did have something pretty cool happen on Wednesday though. Elder Dearinger and I found a great guy maybe 2 months ago, and Elder Lyman and I were finally able to set up with him for a lesson. We started the lesson, and it turned out he’s actually a 7th Day Adventist (those who believe that the Sabbath is on Saturday)! Quite the plot twist haha. The lesson with him was great though, and he knew the Bible very, very well. We shared a lot about the restoration and Joseph Smith, and he seemed to accept it all well. I’m excited to keep teaching him!

(Spring is coming! Just look at that country…)

(Spring is coming! Just look at that country…)

Friday and Saturday were great, as we had the chance to go to Mission Leadership Council again in Zagreb. We left Friday afternoon, and after a beautiful drive though the Slovene countryside and a nice delay at the Slovenia-Croatia border, we arrived in Zagreb fashionably late.

It was a great experience to be able to meet together as the mission leadership and discuss the issues that we’re facing right now. I know the four of us from Celje left with a lot of ideas on how to help the Slovenia Zone. The conference ended Saturday afternoon, but we had to make a slight detour and stop in Ljubljana on the way home, so we didn’t end up getting back to Celje until pretty late.

Sunday was another great day of Church, and it was the second to last Sunday for Elder Lambert, the senior Elder in Celje who’s also serving as Branch President. It’s going to be very interesting to see what’ll happen when he leaves.

Overall we’ve got a lot going on right now with the Branch, with the mission, and with everything else we’re doing. There’s never a dull day! Despite everything that’s happening though, I couldn’t be happier. I know that the Lord has a plan and that He knows what He’s doing. Stress is an enemy of the Spirit, and so I am just focusing everything I have on loving the people, following the Spirit, and trusting in the Lord. To quote the wise words of Bob Marley: “Don’t worry about a thing, ’cause every little thing is going to be all right.” (: With the Lord’s help and direction, those words couldn’t be truer.

I love you so much, and hope all is well back home. I’m doing great in Celje, and am happy, healthy, and loving the work.

(You know I'm a sucker for travel…From left to right: Croatia, Slovenia, EU)

(You know I’m a sucker for travel…From left to right: Croatia, Slovenia, EU)

Starešina Davis

One thought on “Lep Pozdravljeni!!

  1. We can imagine that tracting would drive someone crazy. Especially in a Catholic country like Slovenia. But, as you say, just hang in there. I quote a line from Rossane Rossana Dana from SNL which is “It’s always something!”. Oh well. We’re great, and spring is in the air. It was 85F in Phoenix today. About 10F over normal. Not bad! We love you Jack.
    Grandpa and Grandma Cvetko.

Leave a Reply

