Good Morning Everyone!

The work in action!

The work in action!

Good Morning!

Another week has come and gone, and each week I feel like the time is just getting faster. It’s pretty scary! We had a great week though.

Tuesday was one of those days that was supposed to be amazing, but ended up being… different. We had three great lessons planned: one with a college student I met in Maribor, one with a girl from Celje, and then one with one of our investigators. The lessons were all planned and set up, but as it often goes in the mission field, all three lessons fell through! We were pretty bummed, but I know that sometimes there are just things outside of my control. One thing I’ve learned on my mission is to just stop worrying and stressing about all the little things, especially the things I can’t control. If I’m doing everything I can on my end, then that’s all that can be done! We actually ended up having a great day – even if it wasn’t the day we had planned.

Wednesday was exciting, and we found some pretty cool people. We met a woman who is a professional translator, and speaks perfect Slovene, English, Serbo-Croatian, as well as very good Spanish and German. Her and her mom invited us in for tea, and we talked for a while about who we are and what we’re doing here as missionaries. They were both great, and we’re hoping to meet up again this week to discuss the Restoration. On Wednesday we also had a lesson with a great family. We’ve actually known them for some time, but have never been able to really go over and teach. We finally had the opprotunity, and it was such a great experience to actually teach a family. There is a husband and wife and two kids, and they are such good people. The husband isn’t too religious, but is very concerned about the direction the world is going in, and how he can keep his kids safe and protected from everything going on. We’re going back again this week, and I hope we can help them progress. This family would be a great addition to the church here.

Friday we did a group contacting activity with the sisters. There is a spot in Celje where four main streets meet, and there are usually a lot of people there. Since there’s four streets and four missionaries, we each took a street and spent 3 or 4 hours talking to people. It was a huge success. In that 4 hour block, we found more new investigators and passed out more Book of Mormons than we had the entire previous week. I had a blast doing it. Luckily, Sister Nydegger snuck some pictures while we were all contacting, so I actually have a real, “in action” shot haha.

On Saturday, Elder Lyman and I had a chance to go on “splits” with two of the members here. That is when the two missionaries split up, and go out and work with a member from the branch/ward. I’ve never done it before, but I’m glad I did, and we both had a great time out with the members! I guess there really is no better way to help members get excited about missionary work, than have them go out and actually spend time with us.

All in all, another great week in Celje. I’ve been reading a lot out of Isaiah, so I thought I’d share a bit of Isaiah that I really love. It comes from the 12th chapter.

“Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the Lord JEHOVAH is my strength and my song; he also is become my salvation.

Therefore with joy shall ye draw water out of the wells of salvation.

And in that day shall ye say, Praise the Lord, call upon his name, declare his doings among the people, make mention that his name is exalted.

Sing unto the Lord; for he hath done excellent things: this is known in all the earth.

Cry out and shout, thou inhabitant of Zion: for great is the Holy One of Israel in the midst of thee.”

This is such a beautiful part of the scriptures, and the message it shares is beautiful. Ponder this when you can (: I love you all so much, and hope all is going well back home.

Starešina Davis

One thought on “Good Morning Everyone!

  1. That did seem like a busy week you described. I know you enjoy meeting people, whether or not they are interested in hearing the lessons. I think back to your work in the San Diego political scene. Your efforts in Slovenia are probably harder than selling a candidate. Not that you’re “selling” especially. Anyway your political experience has to help you now.
    We pray for inquiring minds and hearts for you.
    Love, Granddad and Grandma Cvetko

Leave a Reply

