Zdravo in Dobro Jutro!

Hello Everyone!

We’re sitting here in doing our emails, getting ready for an exciting few days. After we finish here, Me, Elder Lyman, Sister Nydegger and Sister Brown (the two Sister Training Leaders) are heading down to Zagreb for two days to meet with President Grant and the rest of the mission leadership for Mission Leadership Council. It’s going to be an amazing chance to get together with the mission leadership from all over the region and share ideas, talk about what we can do better, and help the work in the mission move forward.

This past week has been a blast. On Mondays we go to the Branch institute class, and right now we’re in Isaiah. I’m loving it haha. The more I study Isaish, the more I find how beautiful and filled with doctrine it is. One point I loved from institute was that the Lord gives no commandments to us unless there is a way for us to accomplish them. The Lord would not command us to study the words of Isaiah unless He also prepared a way for us to be able to do it. So anyway, I’ve really been loving my Isaiah study (even if the institute class is in Slovene!).

On Wednesday, we has our follow up lesson with the girl I contacted last week. She came to the church, and we talked a lot about the Book of Mormon and the Holy Ghost. We read Moroni’s promise out of the Book of Mormon, and she seemed to really like that. The Spirit was definitely present during the lesson, and she liked it enough that we are going to start meeting every week. At the end, she even asked if she could take a Book of Mormon for her friend! Just another testimony builder that the Lord really prepares people for us to teach.

Another fun experience we had was while tracting on Saturday. To provide some background, online we have a spreadsheet with the names and phone numbers of people interested in English class, and so I sent out a mass text to all of them telling them that class would be starting soon. I didn’t get much response from that though. But anyway, we were tracting a big apartment building and had done most of the building with little success. We knocked on the very last door, and a man answered. He told us to wait, and went and got his wife to talk to us instead. She looked at my nametag and then said, “Hello Elder Davis! I got a text from you two weeks ago!” I had NO idea who she was or what she was talking about, but after some explanation, we realized she was one of the people on the English class list, and that we had just randomly knocked on her door. She was very friendly, and invited us in for some tea. As we were walking to her kitchen, I looked over at her TV, and saw that she actually had a “Restoration” DVD sitting there on her DVD player! What!?!?! Well, it turns out that she met the missionaries a year or so ago, and had a few lessons with them. After they got transfered though, she sort of just got lost in the mix. We ended up having a great conversation with her, and we are going over again this week to start teaching. What are the odds of me sending her a text, then us happening to knock on her door and finding her like this. This is the Lord’s work, and He directs it 100%. We’re just the imperfect helpers that try our best to follow His direction (:

Other than all this, my week has been fairly normal. It’s been a lot of fun though, and I’m loving it in Celje right now. I’ve been praying a lot about what the focus of this transfer should be, and my mind keeps coming back to the members. No matter how bad people want it to be, Slovenia is not South America, and we will not be having baptisms by the dozens. But, since our numbers are small, we have the unique opprotunity of really bonding with the members and helping them draw together. So, my goal this transfer is to help transform these 20 or so members from a congregation, into a family. If I can do that, I’ve more than fulfilled my purpose as a missionary.

I love you all so much, and hope all is well!

Starešina Davis

DSC00413 DSC00155 DSC00432 DSC00416

Leave a Reply

