Zdravo in Dobro Jutro!

Slovenia is filled with so many random and beautiful churches. This is one in the town of Zalec.

Slovenia is filled with so many random and beautiful churches. This is one in the town of Zalec.

Enjoying some rare reading time in the Ljubljana apartment.

Enjoying some rare reading time in the Ljubljana apartment.

Well, I got chased by a dog for the first time this week! I can finally cross it off my mission bucket list:)

Well, I got chased by a dog for the first time this week! I can finally cross it off my mission bucket list:)

DSC00394     Well, another 9 weeks have come and gone, which means we had another round of transfers. Today marks the end of my second transfer in Celje (and Slovenia), and it’s crazy how fast the time is flying. 3 days ago was my offical 6-month mark, and I am shocked that a fourth of my mission is already done. How did that happen!?

But anyway – transfers. To make a long story short, Elder Lyman and I are staying together this transfer and we are going from working in Ljubljana and Celje to only working in Celje. I’m so happy about that! For one thing, we’re now back to being responsible for just one city, which is a big relief. Also, I’ve been praying and praying to stay in Celje, becuase I feel like there’s still work I need to do here. Now it’s just time for me to figure out what it is I need to do here and do it!

Other transfer news – though I have no clue how or why, I’ve been asked by President Grant to be the Zone Leader with Elder Lyman over the Slovenia Zone. For a bit of background, a mission is organized like this: you have a Mission President at the top, and he calls zone leaders, who lead “zones”. In our mission, each country is it’s own zone, and each country has a set of zone leaders. Then, the countries are further divided into “districts”, which have district leaders.

Anyway, President Grant called me on Saturday morning, and I was shocked! I’ve only been here two transfers, and somehow I’ve gone from junior companion to zone leader in just one weekend. How that decision was made… I will never know haha.

I’m honestly pretty intimidated by this new calling and responsibility. That being said, a calling form President Grant is a calling from the Lord, and I’m pretty sure He knows what He’s doing (: Still, I hope I can somehow figure out what on Earth I’m doing!!

One thing I’d like to share is a contacting experience I had last night. We did our usual Sunday night hot chocolate activity, and it was going great. Some members came, and I think the memebrs had a blast doing missionary work with us. That’s actually one of my transfer goals: get the Celje Branch really, really excited about doing missionary work with us.

Anyway, Elder Lyman was across the street talking to someone, and the Sisters and a member were talking to a different person, and I was manning the hot chocolate. I saw a girl walking down the street, and went up to her and started talking to her. She’s probably 23ish, and was super friendly. I gave her a Restoration brochure, and told her who we are and what we do as missionaries. I asked her if she had 5 minutes that I could explain what “Restoration” means, and she happily agreed. I went right into it, and shared a quick version of the Joseph Smith story. I recited the first vision, and after I said the words “Joseph, this is my beloved Son. Hear Him”, I stopped and paused for a second.

Almost instantly, the girl got teary eyed, and just looked at me and kept saying (trying not to cry) “Wow. I feel something. I feel something. I feel something so good inside”. I told her what she was fealing was the Holy Ghost, telling her that the Joseph Smith story is true. We talked for another 20 minutes there on the sidewalk, and I shared the entire restoration, introduced and gave her the Book of Mormon, and set up for a next appointment this week. I don’t think I’ve had such a powerful and distinct experience with the Spirit like that before. There is real and tangible power in the Joseph Smith story, and that girl felt something she had never felt before when I shared it with her. That entire experience was a real testimony builder for me.

Anyway, I love you all so much, and though I’m a little overwhelmed about all that’s going on, I am comforted by the fact that I have an unshakable testimony in Jesus Christ, His Church, and this missionary work. Last night I went to bed feeling such joy, knowing that I had touched that girl’s life. Whether or not she progresses as an investigator, she has felt the Spirit, and will remember that for a long, long time. I hope you are all feeling the Spirit in your lives as well, and I have learned that the small things we do invite the Spirit: reading the scriptures, praying always, and most importantly, having love and charity for those around us. Till next week (:

Starešina Davis

2 thoughts on “Zdravo in Dobro Jutro!

  1. Hey Elder Davis! What a great post! Things seem to be going well there in Slovenia, and you have the right attitude about loving and serving the people there. You will definitely be blessed. I look forward to reading your posts as the story continues to unfold.

  2. Hi Jack, this is Grandma Davis, what a great missionary moment you had with that young girl. It constantly amazes me how much every person in the world is important to the Lord. It doesn’t matter how they look or if they are rich or poor, all are alike to the Lord. And how he appreciates his servants who try with all their might to serve him and help his children. I know the Lord is watching over you and will help and guide you in your assignments. To be trusted to be a Zone Leader over all the missionaries in a COUNTRY! Wow! Big Job. WE know you have the ability and the power of the spirit and you will do great. We love you and pray for you every day. Love, Grandma Davis

Leave a Reply

