Another Fantastic Week in Celje

Dober Dan Vsi!

We don’t have a whole lot of time today for emails, so this one may be shorter than usual. The reason for this is the amazing p-day we had today. As I’m sure you can already see, we went to Lake Bled! This is probably one of the most beautiful places in the world, and is a picturesque lake in the Slovene Alps. Anyway, it’s such a beautiful place, and we went with 5 other missionaries from Ljubljana and Kranj. And let me tell you, it was QUITE the adventure. We all wanted to do something fun and adventurous, but we didn’t have a car or anyone to drive us anywhere. So, Sister Nydegger and I convinced Elder Dearinger and Sister Cuthbert to wake up at 4AM and take a train up to Lake Bled. I’m glad we did, becuase we had a BLAST! We walked around the entire lake, hiked up to the Bled Castle, ate some of the famous “Bled Cream Cake” and just had an alltogether great time. I’m a firm believer in using p-days to their fullest, even if it means waking up at 4AM, and today was a success in that regard (: (Check the dropbox folder to see the million photots I took!)

The rest of this week was great, but not much can top Lake Bled…

I felt like we needed to spend some time tracting (going door to door) this week, and it was a great success. Usually, tracting is thought of as the “last resort” method of missionary work, but we were able to find quite a few new people this week through tracting. Two of them were a really sweet older couple who let us in and fed us cookies and juice and talked with us for over an hour. It just goes to show that there really are people out there willing to talk to us and hear our message.

One funny tracting story: we were tracting in a neighboorhood and rang this doorbell. Like often happens here, the woman answered by going out onto her balcony, instead of coming to the door. We talked to her as she was up on her balcony for a second, but she quickly told us “sorry boys, you won’t find a new member here!”. That was fairly normal, but before we could walk away, she quickly followed it up with “but, would you like a donut?”. We gladly accepted, and expected her to come down and open the front door. Instead, she took a bag with two donuts and threw it off her balcony for us to catch haha. It was a hilarious sight. She went pack in and grabbed juice boxes and apples and threw those off her balcony as well. I had to just laugh at the idea of this old woman throwing donuts and juice boxes off her 2nd story balcony to two missionaries… Well, in any case, we found a bench and ate!

I’m feeling all better (health wise), and am back into the regular swing of things. The winter weather isn’t bad at all, and after that big snowstorm, the temps have actually gone back up. So we’re doing just fine here.

My spiritual thought this week is from something I studied. I was reading out of Exodus about Moses, and really loved reading about his initial encounter with the Lord in the burning bush. In Exodus 3:11 it says “And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?” It further says in 4:10 “And Moses said unto the Lord, O my Lord, I am not eloquent, neither heretofore, nor since thou hast spoken unto thy servant: but I am slow of speech, and of a slow tongue.” Moses obviously had some trouble speaking, and was expressing his fears and lack of confidence to the Lord. What I love though, is the Lord’s response. In verses 11 and 12 of chapter 4 it says “And the Lord said unto him, Who hath made man’s mouth? or who maketh the dumb, or deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? have not I the Lord? Now therefore go, and I will be with thy mouth, and teach theewhat thou shalt say.”

I can almost see the Lord up in Heaven just giving a little sigh as He says this to Moses. Moses (like us today) often see life’s problems as things that are just absolutly insurmountable. (I can’t speak Slovene, I’m addicted to XY and Z, I don’t have a job, my family situation isn’t good, etc) But, he (and we) need to be reminded of who created all life in the first place. If the Lord can create the human body, surely He can help with a speach problem, as in Moses’ case. If He can create the heavens and the Earth, surely He can help us with our problems as well.

Remember this week to keep your trust in the Lord, becuase I know and have seen that He can and will help us with all of our trials and problems. All we need to do is exercise faith and ask.

I love you all so much, and can’t wait to hear from you soon!

DSC00194 DSC00322 DSC00331 DSC00146

(Straight out of a fairy tale)

(Straight out of a fairy tale)

DSC00361 DSC00371 DSC00378

(sometimes I think Slovenia isn't actually a real place…I mean, come on, look at that!)

(sometimes I think Slovenia isn’t actually a real place…I mean, come on, look at that!)

Starešina Davis

One thought on “Another Fantastic Week in Celje

  1. Jack, I’m glad you got to Lake Bled. Grandma and I have been there a few times and have always enjoyed it greatly. of course the Cream Cakes are touted by everyone there and they are delicious,. too bad there is not a low-cal version!!! We rode up to the castle and around the lake on the little train, but walking is doable as you’ve said. I’ve always been surprised at how few people are there, considering how attractive it is..
    I hope you have received some of the “Family” info for contacts. I believe Renata, who is our “in America” relative in Napperville Illinois has tried to contact some the family to let them know you may be calling, etc. I remember seeing “Horseflesh” as a meat entrée on restaurant menus when we were there. Have you seen it? I was too chicken to try it! Pardon the pun. It probably tastes like chicken.
    Christmas was a great time here. Pf course it would have been perfect if you were here too. The week after Christmas we had 18 family with us. It was great and we had a lot of fun.
    We miss you and pray for your success and safety.
    Grandma and Grandpa Cvetko.

Leave a Reply

