Hello and Happy 2015!

Hello Everyone!

I can’t believe it’s already 2015, and I can’t believe how fast the time is flying by! I feel like it was just last week that I got dropped off in Provo. I suppose time flies when you’re doing the right thing (: (and having tons of fun!)

I hope you all had a great week back home, becuase Elder Dearinger and I had a fantastic week in Celje. The Spirit was just so strong this week, and we were able to find so many new people to teach.

Last Monday was a blast. Me, Elder Dearinger, Sister Cuthbert and Sister Nydegger went over to the house of one of the young adults in the branch. The rest of his family are not members, but they love the missionaries and wanted to cook us lunch. His mom and grandma made us a huge traditional slovene lunch: sour cabbage (essentially sauerkraut), sausages and meats, bread, dessert, etc. It was so good… I’m really loving traditional Slovene food – it tastes amazing and it’s all so fresh and natural and healthy. Anyway, we had a great lunch, and then the four of us played some board games with him. It was a great p-day, and I love getting to spend time with the branch members – esspecially the people closer to our age.

During the middle of the week we decided we needed to find new people to teach, so we spent a lot of time contacting on the street and tracting out in the neighboorhoods. The bummer was that I picked up the flu on Tuesday night, and ended up having to spend all of Wednesday morning in the apartment hopped up on NyQuill. I was so bummed since I thought this was going to ruin the amazing week we had planned, but the Lord blessed me with the strength and energy to get out there and still knock on some doors by Wednesday evening (:

The knocking really payed off, and we had quite a few people let us into their house. One older man let us in to talk to him, and he ended up feeding us homemade bread and apple juice, and let us warm up by his heater. Slovenes are so friendly. We also found another older guy who was really cool. He lived in LA for 25 years (for work), and so him and I had a blast talking about LA and southern California. We’ve begun teaching him, but he’ll be going back to LA in a month or two. I’ll definitely have to get in contact with the missionaries out there to follow up on his teaching!

The biggest news of the week has to do with one of our investigators. He just turned 20, and is a really smart guy (speaks perfect English). He’s really interested in the gospel, and is already 80 or so pages into the Book of Mormon. He prays with us in each lesson, and comes to church every week as well. He also loves to come to activities and help pass out cards and brochures. He’s awesome! Anyway, last night we were meeting with him in the church, and I explained a little bit about what baptism is. Well, he loved the idea, and has decided to get baptized!!! I am so excited for him. This is the first person we’ve had who’s really committed to be baptized, and I’m confident it will happen. He will be an amazing addition to the branch, and I think he would do great as a missionary.

So all in all this week has been fantastic. Even though I was a bit sick, I emotionally and spiritually felt so good all week, and am working on trying to have the constant companionship of the Spirit.

Another thing I’ve seen this week is how much God cares about me, and answers my prayers. We were tracting out in a neighboorhood one evening, and hadn’t found anyone yet. I said a little prayer, telling Heavenly Father that we had made the goal of 3 new investigators and that we needed His help to accomplish the goal. Within the next hour, we had found exactly 3. On Sunday I fasted for that investigator, and asked that our lesson with Him would go well, and that we’d be able to have good progress. Well, he’s getting baptized now! I guess all of this really built my faith and knowledge that the Lord hears and answers our prayers, and that we can pray for simple and specific things. I love the power of prayer and faith.

I hope all is well back home with work and school, and I pray for you every day! I love you so much!

Group lunch with Sandi

Group lunch with Sandi

Taking the suburbs by storm

Taking the suburbs by storm

Leave a Reply

