Week 5 – More MTC Fun!

Živijo everybody!

This has been another good week at the MTC, though I can’t say there’s anything new happening… We pretty much do the same thing here each day! We have breakfast at 7:15, class from 7:45-11:35, then lunch, then class from 12:20-4:40, then dinner, then personal study from 6-7, companionship study from 7-8, and language study from 8-9. So all in all, I have good (but monotonous) days. On Tuesday mornings we have a service assignment, and Elder Wise and I have the best service assignment in the MTC. While most people clean bathrooms or residence halls during service, we put up the world flags around the MTC. Each Tuesday we get to choose 40ish world flags and then raise them on the flagpoles outside. Its actually pretty fun, and we’ve put up Slovenia each week (obviously!). Tuesday nights are also great! We have a general authority devotional, where we hear from a general authority in the Church. Unfortunately we haven’t had an Apostle yet, since they get August off. That will change soon though! On the same note, I’ve been asked to say the prayer at the devotional next week. I’ll have to pray in front of whichever general authority is there, as well as all 2,500 missionaries in the MTC. Can’t say I’ve ever been this nervous about praying before. It’ll be great though.

 

And that’s pretty much how the week goes!

 

Not too long ago, we hit our half-way point, and so had a little “party” with the other Adriatic North Missionaries. Of course, by “party”, I mean eating junk food, singing hymns, and watching Bible videos/Mormon Messages. It was still really fun though, and I enjoyed spending time with the other Adriatic North missionaries (not sure if I’ve mentioned it, but there are 13 of us – 5 Slovenes and 8 Croatians).

 

The Slovene is coming along, but I panicked a bit yesterday when I realized that I’ll be speaking to real Slovenes in just a bit over 3 weeks. I definitely don’t feel ready for that. Speaking of language, my favorite (and most embarrassing) language story of the week happened yesterday in class. We were learning about something called the ‘Imperative Case’, and I realized that it was a super helpful tool! So, I attempted to say the following sentence to my teacher (in a somewhat exasperated voice) : “I needed this today!”. Instead of saying that, I accidentally said “I gave birth to this today!” Needless to say my teachers were dying of laughter. But all in all the language is going well. I know it’ll be fine, and that if I work my hardest, the Lord will make up the difference.

 

I’ve kind of realized this week that in spite of all I don’t love about the MTC (the food sometimes, the monotony, the isolation), I am SO happy here. There’s something so amazing about dedicating 100% of my time to Heavenly Father. It’s a chance I know I will never get again in my life, and so Im trying to make the most of it. There’s also something so amazing about spending my time around 2,500 other young men and women who believe in the same things that I do, and who are making the same sacrifices I am. Because Im living in an environment where there’s virtually no swearing, no lying, no cheating, no anger, and no contention, I feel the Spirit ALL of the time, instead of just sometimes, like we do in the “real world”. It’s just a great feeling to know that I am so close to Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. If nothing else, these few weeks have only proven to me that God is real and that this is, without a doubt, His church on the Earth. There is no place I would rather be right now.

 

I love and miss you all!!!

 

– Starešina Davis

One thought on “Week 5 – More MTC Fun!

  1. Dobra Don, Jack. At least I think that means “gooday” or “howdy” in Slovene!!! It sounds like you’re having a great learning experience. I know you’ll love Slovenia and Croatia. I am 1/4 Croat and 1/4 Slovene, so it can’t be all bad. Talk to you soon….. Grandpa Cvetko
    By the way Cvetko should mean “flowers” or “blooming” in Slovne.

Leave a Reply

