Week 2

Živijo!

Well, it’s been another great week at the MTC! This Wednesday puts me past the 2 week mark, with 7 to go. It’s a lot of weeks to be in one place like this, but it helps that the MTC is so great.

 

I guess I’ll tell you a little bit about the MTC. The easiest way to describe it is “Missionary Bootcamp”. Instead of spending all day and night training for combat though, we spend all day and night learning the Gospel of Jesus Christ, and how to be a good missionary. Oh, and Slovene. We’re learning that too. The Slovene is coming great, but I’ve had some… fun… language experiences this week.

 

We were teaching a lesson to our “investigator” (really just our teacher) and I was telling him that because God loves us, he sent His Son to Earth to die for us. The word for “Earth” is Zemlja, but I said “Because God loves us, he sent his Son to Žemlja, to die for our sins”. That little accent above the Z changed the word to “dinner roll”…. I told our investigator that God sent His son to a dinner roll to die for our sins. Needless to say, he was very confused.

 

This one is… worse. We were just finishing up a GREAT lesson with our other investigator, and he was very enthusiastic about what we were teaching. I decided to extended the invitation to be baptized. My (intended) sentence was “Will you follow the example of Jesus Christ and be baptized?”. “To be baptized” is “krščel” in Slovene, but instead of saying that, I said “križal”. And as it would happen, that means “to be crucified”…. I managed to ask our investigator if he would follow the example of Jesus Christ and be crucified. He couldn’t handle it, and busted out laughing.

 

All in all though this has been a wonderful week. I’ve finally gotten used to the MTC schedule, and I couldn’t imagine being anywhere else right now. I’ve attached some pictures of myself and the other Slovene missionaries. I miss and love you all!

 

Starešina Davis

Leave a Reply

