Week 1

Živjo!

Well, this marks one week since I started my mission! I don’t have a ton of time to write, and so much has happened. I’ll do my best though.

 

Fist off, let me share something I came across during my scripture study this week. In D&C 31:3, it says “Lift up your hearts and rejoice, for the day of your mission has come; and your tongue shall be loosed, and you shall declare glad tidings of great joy to this generation”. That is exactly how I feel right now. The day of my mission has come, and I cannot wait to declare glad tidings of great joy to everyone I meet.

 

The Missionary Training Center has been amazing. My companion here is Elder Wise, and we are the only two Elders currently learning Slovene. There are three other sisters learning Slovene with us, Sestra Erdmann, Sestra Dutton, and Sestra Robertson. The five of us have become very close. I love the excitement and spirit that all of the missionaries have here. It’s so encouraging to me.

 

Slovene is… hard. Our teacher will not speak English to us, which makes it all the more difficult. It is a huge help though – immersion is the best way to learn. In addition to our Slovene class, we have begun teaching the gospel to “Marko”. In reality, he’s just one of our teacher’s acting like an investigator, but it’s still very intimidating. When we teach, we are only allowed to use Slovene, so the lessons have been very simple and short. They’ve been great though, and I’ve been able to feel the Spirit while I teach. 

 

Our zone (the 35ish missionaries I’m grouped with) are all of the missionaries learning Slovene, Croatian, Bulgarian, Turkish, Czech, and Polish. It’s an amazing group, and I’ve grown to love all of them.

 

I love being a missionary, and am loving the MTC. I miss you all, and can’t wait to share my experiences with you. Feel free to write me emails or letters, and I’ll try my best to respond!

 

Na Svidenje! 

 

– Starešina Davis

 

Leave a Reply

